Speak Out: Anti-LGBTQ+ Youth Bills and Abortion Ban in Committee

Four big Christian nationalist bills are scheduled for a second round of committee hearings next week:

  • HB2161 – effectively requiring healthcare providers and schools to “out” LGBTQ+ youth to their parents
  • SB1165 – banning transgender female students from participating in girls’/women’s sports teams
  • SB1138 – banning gender reassignment surgery for all people under 18
  • SB1164 – a ban on all abortions past 15 weeks gestation

Data has shown time and again that when young LGBTQ+ people have their identities affirmed in a positive way, rates of depression, suicide, and other negative outcomes go down. Bills subjecting them to erasure, stigma, and unwanted exposure effectively single them out for harm.

And we probably don’t need to tell you everything that’s wrong with the abortion ban.

The first bill is in Senate Education Committee on Tuesday and the other three are in House Judiciary on Wednesday. Here’s what you can do about them:

  1. Contact committee members with just a few clicks using our action form here.
  2. If you are a Request to Speak user, sign in against these bills before Tuesday.

CONTACT LAWMAKERS NOW

Oppose Bills that Push Religious Dogma, Take Away Choice & Punish Health Care Providers

The Legislature is hearing three bills this week designed to push religious dogma, control women, and punish health care providers.

HB2637 and SB1044 would force the state to divest from and cease doing business with any company that provides abortion or sex education materials—or any company that donates toward these causes.

This would not only hurt providers of reproductive health, but also hurt schools that rely on organizations like Planned Parenthood for scientifically-accurate, inclusive curricula about sex and relationships.

HB2811 would make it a class 3 felony to make, sell, or help someone obtain an abortion pill. This would have severe impacts, especially on women in poor or rural areas where access to safe conventional abortion is already scarce.

We’ve put together a form for you below where you can quickly send committee members a piece of your mind about these bills. I hope you’ll join us in doing so.

TAKE ACTION NOW

Bills in Committee Feb 7-8

We’re continuing to watch several dozen bills of interest moving through Legislative committees. Here’s the full list of what’s on our radar next week:

In House Health & Human Services: Monday, 2/7/22:

  • HB2086: schools cannot require COVID or Human Papillomavirus vaccines

 

Committee members:

Kelli Butler (D) – (602) 926-5156 / kbutler@azleg.gov

Joseph Chaplik (R) – (602) 926-3436 / jchaplik@azleg.gov

Alma Hernandez (D) – (602) 926-3136 / ahernandez@azleg.gov

Steve Kaiser (R) – (602) 926-3314 / skaiser@azleg.gov

Joanne Osborne (R) – (602) 926-3181 / josborn@azleg.gov

Beverly Pingerelli (R) – (602) 926-3396 / bpingerelli@azleg.gov

Pam P. Hannley (D) – (602) 926-4848 / ppowershannley@azleg.gov

Amish Shah (D) – (602) 926-3280 / ashah@azleg.gov

Justin Wilmeth (R) – (602) 926-5044 / jwilmeth@azleg.gov

 

In Senate Government: Monday, 2/7/22:

  • SB1058: banning drive-up voting; ballot boxes
  • SB1298: mask mandate prohibition
  • SB1357: restrictions on voting machines
  • SB1358: mandating that ballots must be counted at precincts instead of counties (facilitating actual election fraud)
  • SB1359: all election workers must have unique usernames and passwords (so that individuals can be targeted more easily with election fraud accusations)
  • SB1360: expanding access to polls granted to “election observers” (facilitating voter intimidation)
  • SB1362: requiring same-day tabulation; more poll workers/electors
  • SB1380: monthly scrubbing of voter rolls
  • SB1404: restrictions on early voting (would particularly impact people with disabilities)
  • SB1457: restrictions on voting machines
  • SB1474: all elections must be in person
  • SB1477: monthly update of felony convictions records (so as to restrict election access)

 

Committee members:

Sonny Borrelli (R) – (602) 926-5051 / sborelli@azleg.gov

Sally Ann Gonzales (D) – (602) 926-3278 / sgonzales@azleg.gov

Theresa Hatathlie (D) – (602) 926-5160 / thatathlie@azleg.gov

Warren Petersen (R) – (602) 926-4136 / wpetersen@azleg.gov

Martin Quezada (D) – (602) 926-5911 / mquezada@azleg.gov

Wendy Rogers (R) – (602) 926-3042 / wrogers@azleg.gov

Kelly Townsend (R) – (602) 926-4467 / ktownsend@azleg.gov

 

In Senate Education Tuesday, 2/8/22: 

  • SB1131, SB1657, & SB1707: expansions to the state’s school voucher program.
  • SB1412: lowering standards for who can be hired as a substitute teacher
  • SB1519: opening the door for defunding special education

Committee members:

Nancy Barto (R) – (602) 926-5766 / nbarto@azleg.gov

Paul Boyer (R) – (602) 926-4173 / pboyer@azleg.gov

Sally Ann Gonzales (D) – (602) 926-3278 / sgonzales@azleg.gov

Rick Gray (R) – (602) 926-5413 / rgray@azleg.gov

Theresa Hatathlie (D) – (602) 926-5160 / thatathlie@azleg.gov

Christine Marsh (D) – (602) 926-3184 / cmarsh@azleg.gov

Tyler Pace (R) – (602) 926-5760 / tpace@azleg.gov

Thomas Shope (R) – (602) 926-3012 / tshope@azleg.gov

 

What you can do:

  1. Contact the committee members listed above before the day of the hearing
  2. If you are a Request to Speak user, sign in against the above bills. (Note: RTS is moving very slowly, so prepared to be patient.)

 

We will provide an additional update at the beginning next week for bills being heard Wednesday and beyond.

 

In Solidarity,

-The Secular AZ Team

The Startling Truth About Religious Refusals: What Your Healthcare Providers Aren’t Telling You

The intersection of law, medicine and so-called “morality” in the U.S. healthcare system poses a serious threat to patients’ access to healthcare and information. That’s the overarching message sent by a panel of experts in medicine and law we convened in December of 2021. As part of our annual Secular Summit event, Secular AZ organized a discussion on refusals of service based on religious beliefs, featuring the following experts and moderated by Secular AZ Legal Director Dianne Post:

  • Atsuko Koyama, MD, MPH, Clinical Asst Professor University of AZ, COM, Creighton University; Dpt of Child Health and Emergency Medicine, Valleywise Health Medical Center
  • Professor Elizabeth Sepper, Professor of Law at the University of Texas at Austin
  • Dr. DeShawn Taylor, MD, MSc, FACOG, board-certified OB/GYN, clinical professor, and owner of Desert Star Family Planning in Phoenix

You can see the full video here. Let’s summarize what these experts working in the fields of medicine and law have to say about how refusals of service based on religious beliefs affect patients.

Continue reading

We Did It!! Bill Funneling Taxpayer $ to Fake “Women’s Health Clinics” Defeated

GOOD NEWS! Late night, the AZ Senate voted down a terrible bill that would have funneled taxpayer money into fake “women’s health” clinics that were, in reality, fronts for pro-life groups that seek to thwart access to safe, legal abortion.

 

HB 2759 got just 15 votes, one short of what’s needed -thanks in large part to secular supporters like you who raised their voices loudly in opposition to this bill.

As Secular AZ’s Tory Roberg says, “We are strong, but we are mighty!”

We want to thank those who spoke out, attended the rally at the State Capitol, and contacted their lawmakers to voice their opposition to this clear violation of separation of church and state.

Secular AZ took your voices to the House and Senate, where Tory stood up and testified in front of both appropriations committees. Secular AZ was alone in providing public testimony… and these efforts made the difference!

But this is just one of many such battles. Did you know that Secular AZ is the only group with a paid lobbyist, full legal team, and active board of volunteers that fight tirelessly for separation of church and state at the Capitol?

We don’t receive funding from any national groups. Instead, we rely solely on the generosity of Arizonans like you who understand the value of this work.

When the lines between church and state blur, we see attempts to:
  • limit access to reproductive health care
  • restrict women’s right to choose
  • install policies that discriminate against LGTBQ individuals
  • pass bills that harm sound science and medicine
  • decrease funding for public schools

With more than 4,000 supporters around the state, we amplify the voice of reason at the Arizona State Capitol as we fight for secular public policies that benefit allArizonans.

Help us keep fighting! Now, more than ever, we need your support. Please donate today to help keep religious influence out of Arizona’s public policy.

#StopTheBans National Day of Action

Georgia. Ohio. Kentucky. Missouri. Alabama. ALL of these states’ Republican majorities have voted to effectively ban abortion in their states. And there are other states lining up to the be next state to “nearly or effectively ban abortion.”

Abortion bans impact everyone: women, transgender patients, people of color, LGBTQ people, undocumented folks, men, people with disabilities – the list goes on!

 JOIN US TO ON A NATIONAL DAY OF ACTION to #StopTheBans

 

TUESDAY, MAY 21, 2019 – 9:30 am

Arizona State Capitol

1700 W. Washington Street

Phoenix, AZ

 

Show up in PINK or your favorite vibrant Tuesday color and fight with us!